The No. 1 female Advanced Placement Scholar in Texas, Anne Simmons, started at Walnut Hill Elementary.

Each year only TWO students – one male and one female – from each state earn this distinction.

The Dallas ISD streak continues. Past Dallas ISD recipients were: 2006 Emily Bordelon, 2005 Joshua Schonborn, 2004 Frederick Wulf, 2002 Rosh Losher & Lucy Angle, and 2001 Eric D’Avignon.

To clarify one point from the DMN article, AP classes are open to all students, including freshmen, at most Dallas ISD high schools.

AND…I just learned (1/7/08) that the male honor goes to Spencer Coffey from Dallas ISD SEM.

What do you call this kind of streak – dynasty, monopoly…?

Click to sign up for the Advocate's weekly news digest and be the first to know what’s happening in Preston Hollow.