Dallas City Council member Jennifer Staubach Gates has been named the recipient of the 18th Annual Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award, presented by Bank of Texas, Texas Woman’s University and the Texas Woman’s University Foundation. Texas Woman’s Chancellor Carine M. Feyten will honor Gates Feb. 20 at the Dallas Leadership Luncheon. Gates represents District 13 on the City council. She is a licensed registered nurse and the recipient of numerous awards including the Marnie Wildenthal Literacy Award (2018), the Champion of Human Rights Award from Mosaic Family Services (2016), and the University of the Incarnate Word Alumni of Distinction for Service in Mission (2015).

Established in 2002, the Virginia Chandler Dykes Leadership Award is given annually to Dallas leaders dedicated to improving the quality of life in the community and to furthering the importance of education. Past award recipients are Dale Petroskey, Norman P. Bagwell, Stephen L. Mansfield, Frances Anne “Francie” Moody-Dahlberg, Ralph Hawkins, Mary Brinegar, Patricia and Curtis Meadows, Myrna D. Schlegel and Kimberly Schlegel Whitman, Joel Allison, Kathleen Mason, Caroline Rose Hunt, T. Boone Pickens, Lindalyn Bennett Adams, Marnie and Kern Wildenthal, Gretchen Minyard Williams and J.L. “Sonny” Williams, Geraldine “Tincy” Miller, and Susan and Charles Cooper.

This year’s luncheon will be held at the Belo Mansion and Pavilion, 2101 Ross Ave. Tickets are $175. Sponsorships are available. For more information, call 940-898-3865, visit twu.edu/dallasleadership or email kquinones@twu.edu

Click to sign up for the Advocate's weekly news digest and be the first to know what’s happening in Preston Hollow.