Seniors at several schools in our neighborhood were named National Merit Semifinalists.

About 16,0000 students in the United States received this recognition. They are able to participate in the National Merit Finalist competition, and 7,500 students will receive the National Merit Scholarship.

Students are eligible to participate in the National Merit Scholar competition by taking the PSAT/NMSQT during their junior year; being enrolled as a high school student, progressing toward graduation and planning to accept admission to college no later than the fall after they finish high school; and attending high school in the U.S., Washington, D.C. or U.S. commonwealth and territory, or meet citizenship requirements for students attending high school outside the U.S.

The National Merit Semifinalists finished in the top 1% of more than 1.5 million students who took the PSAT.

Katherine Reynolds. Photo courtesy of Ursuline Academy.

Katherine Reynolds is the editor-in-chief of “Esse,” Ursuline’s literary-art magazine, and runs on the varsity cross country team. She plans to major in biochemistry and minor in psychology and wants to attend medical school and become a pediatric cardiothoracic surgeon.

  • Jesuit College Preparatory School of Dallas

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

John Archer, Nicholas Evanich and Derek Zhang were the National Merit Semifinalists from Jesuit.

  • St. Mark’s School of Texas

National Merit Semifinalists at St. Mark’s. Photo courtesy of St. Mark’s School of Texas.

Twenty-two students at St. Mark’s were named National Merit Semifinalists. They are: Arjun Agarwal, Zayn Bhimani, Matthew Fan, Alex Geng, Mikhail Ghosh, Axel Icazbalceta, Abhi Jain, Jedidiah Kim, Adam Lai, Tomek Marczewski, Bryce Nivet, Colin Peck, Sampath Rapuri, Alexander Ryan, Matthew Shen, Pranay Sinkre, Isaac Song, Ekansh Tambe, Adam Wang, Darren Xi, Jonathan Yi and Jeremy Yu.

  • The Hockaday School

Photo courtesy of The Hockaday School.

Seventeen students at Hockaday were named National Merit Semifinalists. They are: Tukwa Ahsan, Fiona Chen, Sienna Ellis, Veronica Fang, Rachen Jan, Kyulee Kim, Minje Kwun, Cassie Liu, Eleanor Lockhart, Mina Raj, Lucy Roberts, Ananya Sharma, Nazli Soysal, Madeline Stout, Laura Taten, Sophia Yung and Hanna Zhang.

Click to sign up for the Advocate's weekly news digest and be the first to know what’s happening in Preston Hollow.