Dallas Mayor Eric Johnson assigned City Council members to their committees this week.

“There is no time to waste as this momentous point in our city’s history,” Johnson wrote in the memorandum.

Gay Donnell Willis, representing District 13, will join economic development, public safety, transportation and infrastructure, ad hoc committee on judicial nominations and ad hoc committee on legislative affairs. She was also named the vice chair of the government performance and financial management committee.

Jaynie Schultz, representing District 11, has been assigned to environment and sustainability, housing and homelessness solutions, transportation and infrastructure, workforce, education and equity, and ad hoc committee on general investigating and ethics. Schultz will be the chair of the workforce, education and equity committee, the only freshman member to be appointed as a chair.

The assignments will last throughout the entire 2021-23 Dallas City Council term.